NUJ Lauds Ugwuanyi on Cordial Labour Relations

The governor of Enugu State, Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, has been commended for his excellent relationship with labour unions in the state.

Chairman of the Nigerian Union of Journalists in Enugu State, Comrade Rex Arum, gave the commendation Tuesday during the inauguration of the newly elected executive members of the Correspondents Chapel.

Thanking the governor for his fatherly role he has always played in the affairs of the chapel, he said: “The State Executive Council of the NUJ is grateful to Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi. We will not forget in a hurry his timely intervention during the dark days which nearly crippled the chapel. His kind gesture towards members of the press is unprecedented and we will continue to partner with him to make the state better.”

Comrade Arum said it’s instructive that the governor also demonstrates a similar inclination in administering the state, resulting in the peace and security witnessed across Enugu.

He emphasized the need for journalists to strive to lead by example so they would not be morally-constrained holding the government to account, and also implored the new officials of the correspondents’ chapel to uphold the union’s constitution in accordance with the ethics of the profession.

In a goodwill message, the South-East zonal secretary of the NUJ, Comrade Ken Oforma, commended the state council for insisting on due process in resolving the crisis that arose in the chapel recently.

On his part, the chapel’s former vice chairman, Mr. Regis Anukwuoji, called on all aggrieved members of the chapel to rally round the new leadership in order to move the union forward.


Responding on behalf of the newly elected officials, the chairman of the Correspondents Chapel Comrade Emma Nweze thanked members for their support, and promised that his administration would neither be adversarial nor vengeful.

“We will be open to criticisms and advice from members and will not deliberately create tension in the chapel,” he said. 

Other members of the executive committee include Ifeoma Aka – vice chairman; Emmanuel Acha – secretary; Ralph Edeh – treasurer; Maureen Ikpeama – financial secretary and Cletus Obi – auditor.

Related posts

Leave a Reply