Ugwuanyi wins re-election bid in Enugu

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared Gov. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) the winner of Saturday’s Governorship election in Enugu state for a second tenure.

The state Returning Officer, Prof. Joseph Ahaneku, who announced the result in Enugu on Sunday, said that Ugwuanyi won in the 17 local government areas (LGAs).

Ahaneku said that the governor polled 449,935 votes against his closest rival, Sen. Ayogu Eze of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 10,423 votes.

Mr Emmanuel Nwankpa of the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) and Mr Ekene Uzodinma of the United Peoples Party (UPP) polled 2,547 and 1,476, respectively.

Ahaneku, who is the Vice Chancellor of Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka, said that there were 1,944,016 registered voters in the state.

He said that 478,241 voters were accredited, adding that 470,927 valid votes were recorded, while 7,314 votes were declared invalid.

Invoking the powers conferred on him, Prof. Ahaneku declared the full election result details as follows:

  1. Enugu South APC 533 PDP 17,513 2. Aninri LGA APC 496 PDP 21,450 3. Awgu LGA APC 1,232 PDP 23,025 4. Ezeagu LGA APC 255 PDP 21,448 5. Isi-Uzo APC 284 PDP 19,698 6. Nkanu West PDP 30,698 APC 243 7. Igbo-Etiti APC 1,223 PDP 25,557 8. Nsukka PDP 51,207 APC 572 9 Oji River PDP 22,369 APC 536 10. Udenu PDP 39,437 APC 394 11. Udi PDP 25,124 APC 823 12. Igbo-Eze North PDP 30,666 APC 1,607 13. Enugu North PDP 15,120 APC 276 14. Enugu East APC 352 PDP 22,300 15. Igbo-Eze South APC 705 PDP 38,326 16. Nkanu East APC 636 PDP 23,118 17. Uzo-Uwani APC 256 PDP 22,879 Total votes scored: PDP: 449,935 APC: 10,423

Indeed, It has ended in Praise!

Enugu State Governor and governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Rt. Hon. Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi, casting his vote for the governorship election at his Amube Ward II Polling Unit, Ohom Orba, Udenu Local Government Area

Related posts

Leave a Reply